One Paragraph Movie Review: Casablanca

Jo Thornely
1 min readAug 25, 2019

--

Seventy-second film: Casablanca, maybe you’ve heard of it. This nugget’s been on my movie-I’ve-wanted-to-tick-off-the-list list for AGES, so I was pretty excited when it came up in the book I’m choosing movies from, and relieved when I enjoyed it. Political intrigue, perfectly hammy supporting performances, and a romance that stops just short of super-swoon honeymoon, it tickled a few of my bones whilst Sam tinkled a few of his ivories. Additionally, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a movie use shadows so much and so impressively to describe the action, and I now have a new hero in Rick who, when faced with the question “You despise me, don’t you?” answers “Well if I gave you any thought I probably would”. Bogey, you magnificent bitch. Just under four impromptu patriotic musical anthem battles out of five.

--

--